Leo Says: Why Music?

I put the question to the crew on the message board the other day, so now I’d thought I write my answer in a blog.

Why music? Well, it simply gets me through the tough times, it cheers me up when I need it, it gives me somthing to look forward to, when nothing else can, it makes me laugh and get excited when I want to. And most of all it inspires me to be a better person.

When i was 16, I spent a lot of time sick and when I was recovering, i began to go walking with a walkman on. It wasn’t so much the exercise, but the joy of listening and being able to think and letting the music become the soundtrack to whatever was going on with my life. The music got me through a lot of hardship.

A few years later, I began to play guitar and then took interest in more guitar-orientated music. Then I followed the progress of Jebediah on the local scene, and began to discover many other acts and suddenly it was not only something that i would do at home, but a huge part of my social life on the weekend, where I would frequent 2 or 3 gigs every weekend.

Nowadays it’s grown to more than that. It’s become something that is with me all the time. I have so many thoughts about music, it’s embarrassing. I spent so much time doing music related tasks, including this website, i continue to ask myself why? I wonder if my music related obsessiveness may seem boring to others, but who cares? I love it!

I hope you’re enjoying Perth Sounds and the new look.
Leo Abbs

Leave a comment